You may wish to be part of a group in order to access information when you need it, but prefer not receive notifications for new messages unless you are directly mentioned.
Mute a Group
To mute notifications for a group, simply go to Group Settings > Mute Group.
Unread messages will now be hidden on the groups page and sidebar and will not be included in your weekly email.
Note if you are mentioned, you will still receive a notification and the gold marker will guide you to the message.
Mute a Group for other users
This is only accessible to administrators
If you wish to add a user to a Group to give them access to information, but would prefer that they do not receive notifications unless they are mentioned, you can mute the group for them.
Go to Space Settings > Manage People and select Manage Groups for the specific person.